Learning Standards

As 21st Century learning standards (below) emerge and evolve to our digital culture, we remain focused on aligning our productions and activities with standards across the curriculum in ways that add new perspective to existing content, engage students through their established media habits and ways of seeing the world, and provide hands-on practice with new forms of communication and technology.

Spot Built

Also see:

  • our integrated curriculum mapping chart
  • diigo.com bookmarked links to what we're reading re: standards
  • our media literacy page

  • Media Literacy in the 21st Century School

    Media Literacy in the 21st Century School, a presentation by TMS with Dan Storchan outlined how we align the core principles of media literacy education with technology and traditional standards within existing curricula.

    Our goal is to help educators locate teachable moments in the classroom through the use and analysis of digital media, bridging The National Association of Media Literacy Education's (NAMLE) Core Principles of Media Literacy Education, with the outlined goals and standards of the educators we work with.  

    The examples below demonstrate how standards in various disciplines are incorporating media literacy concepts -- emphasizing the relevance and potential of media literacy across any curriculum. 

    NAMLE's core principles of media literacy education

    1. Media Literacy Education (MLE) requires active inquiry and critical thinking about the messages we receive and create.
    2. MLE expands the concept of literacy (i.e., reading and writing) to include all forms of media.
    3. MLE builds and reinforces skills for learners of all ages. Like print literacy, those skills necessitate integrated, interactive, and repeated practice.
    4. MLE develops informed, reflective and engaged participants essential for a democratic society.
    5. MLE recognizes that media are a part of culture and function as agents of socialization.
    6. MLE affirms that people use their individual skills, beliefs and experiences to construct their own meanings from media messages.

    the international society for technology education's National Educational Technology Standards (nets)

    See also, A Crosswalk between ISTE's Standards and NYS Learning Standards, created by the New York State Department of Education, aligning the NETS with NYS Standards. 

    1. Creativity and Innovation: Students demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes using technology.
    2. Communication and Collaboration: Students use digital media and environments to communicate and work collaboratively, including at a distance, to support individual learning and contribute to the learning of others.
    3. Research and Information Fluency: Students apply digital tools to gather, evaluate, and use information.
    4. Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making: Students use critical thinking skills to plan and conduct research, manage projects, solve problems, and make informed decisions using appropriate digital tools and resources.
    5. Digital Citizenship:  Students understand human, cultural, and societal issues related to technology and practice legal and ethical behavior. 
    6. Technology Operations and Concepts: Students demonstrate a sound understanding of technology concepts, systems, and operations.

    Common Core Standards for english language arts (ela)

    • "...students need the ability to gather, comprehend, evaluate, synthesize, report on, and create a high volume and extensive range of print and nonprint texts in media forms old and new. The need to research and to consume and produce media is embedded into every element of today’s curriculum"
      - Common Core Standards Initiative, January 2010
    • Speaking & Listening; Presentation of Knowledge and Ideas:
      5. Make strategic use of digital media (e.g., textual, graphical, audio, visual, and interactive elements) in presentations to enhance understanding of findings, reasoning, and evidence and to add interest.
    • Reading: Craft and Structure:
      5. Analyze and evaluate the effectiveness of the structure an author uses in his or her exposition or argument, including whether the structure makes points clear, convincing, and engaging.Grade 11-12
    • Reading: Informational Text; Integration of Knowledge and Ideas:
      7. Integrate information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words to develop a coherent understanding of a topic or issue. Grade 6

    National Council of TEachers of english (ncte) Standards for ELA

    • Students read a wide range of print and non-print texts to build an understanding of texts, of themselves, and of the cultures of the United States and the world;
    • Students adjust their use of spoken, written, and visual language (e.g., conventions, style, vocabulary) to communicate effectively with a variety of audiences and for different purposes.

    New York City Learning English Language Arts Standards

    • Standard 2.4: Students will recognize different levels of meaning
    • Standard 3: Students will read, write, listen, and speak for critical analysis and evaluation.
    • Standard 3.2: Students will assess the quality of texts and presentations, using criteria related to the genre
    • Standard 3.4: evaluate their own and others’ work based on a variety of criteria

    New York State Learning Standards

    • Standard 1: Language for Information and Understanding
    • Standard 2: Language for literary response and expression
    • Standard 3: Language for Critical Analysis and Evaluation
    RT : Freedom to Choose: An Existential Crisis: My reflections on 's keynote speech at https://t.co/aTEunW8ASw
    Mon, 03/12/2018 - 08:04 via Twitter for iPhone @themediaspot